Mold

Every so often, there is a mold that grows on my shower curtain. At least I think it is a mold. It’s the vaguely pink stuff that grows in damp places if you don’t nuke it with chemicals every couple of weeks.

Now my shower curtain isn’t really something I fret about. I pull it back once a day, in the wee hours of the morning when I am half asleep. I don’t really stand there and closely inspect to see if anything strange is growing on it. I’m a very utilitarian person. Unless something affects my day to day routine, I simply do not notice it. It’s not like I don’t care. It just never pops up on my radar.

Today is one of those days where I noticed it. I was cleaning my bathroom and as I went to pull back the curtain to clean the bath tub I saw all of this pink shit. I thought to myself, “how can I be such a careless person? There is a science experiment living on my shower curtain.” So I sprayed and sprayed away at it. After half an hour, I came back into my bathroom, which smelled of chemicals, and rinsed away the filth. It’s not like you can scrub a shower curtain effectively.

Lo and behold, the pink shit had gone away. It’s no where near pristine. I’d have to buy a new curtain for that. Instead, I’ll settle for no pink and continue to use it for another six months until I stumble across another plastic shower curtain at my local super store for $1.99.

I can’t help but think that so many thing follow a similar cycle: politics, jobs, fitness, friendships, relationships, hobbies. We simply put up with it until we decide “no more”.